Tri-College University - Downtown Community Partnership

Tri-College University

Tri-College University

About Tri-College University

Tri-College University (TCU) is a consortium of five institutions of higher education: North Dakota State University, Concordia College, Minnesota State University Moorhead, North Dakota State College of Science and Minnesota State Community and Technical College. Students at the five schools may benefit from what each school offers individually and cooperatively through the consortium.

Through the Tri-College course exchange, students enrolled at one campus may take courses at the others at no extra cost and without going through separate admissions procedures. Tri-College expands discipline offerings and course availability for students beyond their home campus. Tuition is paid only to the home-base campus. Courses not eligible for Tri-College registration are those offered through NDSU’s Division of Distance and Continuing Education, off-campus or weekend courses offered through MSUM, most workshops, independent study courses at Concordia College and private music instruction at Concordia.

The following courses are not eligible for Tri-College registration at NDSCS:

NDSCS Exempt Classes

Students enrolling in classes that require special fees (lab fees, lessons, supplies, etc.) beyond the home-campus fees assessed at the time of registration will be responsible for remittance or payment to the billing department or institution.

Course Limits

The course exchange is limited to one course per student per semester per participating campus. Students are required to take at least one course at their home campus when participating in the Course Exchange Program (excluding summer session). Exceptions to the one-course/semester limit among campuses are as follows:

  • Students who have declared a Tri-College minor (one not offered by their home campus). The minor must be declared and on file with the home institution, and will be confirmed by the home campus at the point of registration. The host campus will confirm that the courses being requested are required for the minor;
  • Students who request enrollment in either the AerospStudies/Air Force ROTC (AS) or Military Science/ArmROTC (MS) courses at NDSU (regardless of declaring the Aerospace Studies or Military Science minors);
  • Students who request enrollment in a course/lab pairing (lecture and corresponding lab, which are considered two separate courses);
  • Students enrolled in the Tri-College University Educatileadership program;
  • Students enrolled in a Vaccinology seminar course are permitted to enroll in one additional class via the Tri-College consortium in the same term;
  • Other requests for exceptions may be reviewed on an individual basis (i.e., second degree at partner institution), but will be granted on a very limited basis only after consultation and agreement between registrars at the impacted campuses.
  • Concordia does not participate in the course exchange during summer semester.

Our Membership

When you join the Downtown Community Partnership, you're becoming part of a group of businesses, nonprofits and individuals committed to the success of Downtown Fargo.

Become a member